Senate Confirms Phoenix, Oregon City Councilor Stuart Warren as Land Conservation and Development Commissioner

Posted in ,
February 7, 2020 
SALEM – On February 5, the Oregon Senate confirmed Stuart Warren as a commissioner on the Land Conservation and Development Commission (LCDC). Warren’s term will begin February 14, 2020 and end September 30, 2020. Warren is filling an unexpired term and is eligible for reappointment to two full terms. He is the founder and operator of a small business in Southern Oregon and an experienced member of the Phoenix, Oregon City Council.With a background in small business, Warren recognizes the close connection between land conservation and economic development for our communities. As a city council leader, he is knowledgeable about state and local land use policies. Warren is the council vice-president, Chair of the Phoenix Urban Renewal Agency board, and council liaison to the city’s Parks and Recreation Committee. “I am honored to be confirmed as a commissioner on the Land Conservation and Development Commission. I look forward to working with the department and other commissioners on important land use goals and rules for the State of Oregon,” stated Warren.Warren will be representing Jackson and Josephine Counties and a portion of Douglas County lying east of the summit of the Coast Range. Warren replaces LCDC’s long-standing commissioner Sherman Lamb. Other members of the Commission are: Robin McArthur, Commission Chair, former Planning and Development director for Metro; Katie Pearmine, Commission vice chair, Strategic Sourcing Manager for Oregon Food Bank; Catherine Morrow, former Deschutes County Planning Director; Melissa Cribbins, attorney and Coos County Commissioner; Anyeley Hallova, development manager; and Gerardo Sandoval, Ph.D., associate professor and author.As a lifelong Oregonian, Warren earned his Bachelor of Science in Geology and Environmental Studies from the University of Puget Sound.“Councilor Warren will make a great addition to LCDC. We looking forward to his contributions on the commission,” Director Rue shared.BackgroundOregon’s statewide land use planning program protects working lands, conserves natural resources and promotes vibrant, livable communities. The Department of Land Conservation and Development (DLCD) administers the program. The seven-member volunteer citizen board known as the Land Conservation and Development Commission guides the agency’s work. The commission consists of seven members, representative of regions of the state along with a current or former elected official of a city and a county. LCDC adopts state land-use goals and rules, assures community plan compliance with the goals, coordinates state and local planning and manages the coastal zone program.Additional information on the commission and their work is available on the DLCD website:
Posted in ,

Leave a Comment